Based on the recommendation of a visitor to the blog, we checked out The Blue Sky Café on 4th St. in Bethlehem last Sunday. I didn’t remember the street address so we crawled down 4th until I spotted the tiny sign and circled the block to find a parking space. I anticipated some difficulty due to the proximity of Lehigh U and the post-church crowd. I got us within a block. Our timing was decent – just a couple people ahead of us for a table.

It’s a lively spot with a busy open kitchen and contemporary style. The menu has all your standard options with a lot of custom creations and seasonal specials – the pumpkin pancakes with maple-walnut butter sounded great. I was tempted but I went with the Sweet Potato Quesadilla instead. Creamy mashed sweet potatoes inside the tortilla, topped with cheese, scrambled eggs, black bean salsa and sour cream. I highly recommend it if you have a big appetite.

BlueSky-E-10-18

My wife was verry happy with her Steel City omelet. Smoked bacon, shallots, wild mushrooms, tomatoes and smoked gouda. They gladly made it with egg whites only.

BlueSky-J-10-18

Definitely check out Blue Sky next time you’re in Bethlehem. We’re excited to try their lunch menu or stop in for a casual dinner.

